Wrap Up | February ’17

P E R S O N A L

February wasn’t anything special for me in terms of life – I messed up supremely for something for my major. Applied Psychology majors are supposed to take fieldwork seminars for two consecutive semesters (and since I’m a junior, I have to take one next semester in order to graduate). I honest to God thought the deadline to apply was mid-March, but it was actually at the end of February. So now I have to meet with the head of the department so I can beg her to give me a chance, lmao, let’s hope it goes well.

I was also supposed to go to a Kevin Garrett concert and I had to skip out on it because of school. I have four midterms next week (fun!), so I’ve been stupidly busy with that. Speaking of school, I’m making baby-steps with my pre-med switch, meaning I just took my first ever pre-med class: Calculus. Guys, I haven’t done Math in almost four years now, and it’s taking me some time to get into the stride of numbers again, but I love, love the process of doing Math problems, so I’m having fun.

Other than that – February was so uneventful and uninteresting. Here’s hoping to a better March!

R E A D I N G  W R A P – U P

3-book template

A  L I S T  O F  C A G E S  B Y  R O B I N  R O E  | ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ | R E V I E W

Loved it. It’s a contemporary with two neurodivergent main characters; a story about the importance of friendship and kindness, and how having someone you can trust can save your life in more ways than one. Highlights problems in fostercare and childhood trauma.

T H E  E D U C A T I O N  O F  M A R G O T  S A N C H E Z  B Y  L I L L I A M  R I V E R A  |

♡ ♡ ♡ | R E V I E W

I enjoyed this, but the first half was lacking. Important read with a majority-Latinx cast, discussing themes of identity, socioeconomic status, privilege, majority-minority dynamics, and a nuanced portrayal of family issues.

H I S T O R Y  I S  A L L  Y O U  L E F T  M E  B Y  A D A M  S I L V E R A | ♡ ♡ ♡ a n d  a  h a l f

I quite liked this book – it’s a slow-burn contemporary that’s focused almost entirely on its characters rather than plot. Silvera does a wonderful job of his portrayal of loss and grief. But the lack of actual plot gave it a sluggish pace. Full review to come.

4-book template

T H E  R O S E  A N D  T H E  D A G G E R  B Y  R E N É E  A H D I E H  |  ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

The Wrath & the Dawn was one of my favorite books of 2015, and I can’t believe I put off reading the sequel for so long. I loved it – fast-paced with just the right balance of action, romance and character development. Knocked off a star because the ending felt rushed.

H O M E G O I N G  B Y  Y A A  G Y A S I  |  ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

I read this for a book club in celebration of Black History Month, and I really enjoyed it. I thought the structure was a gutsy move (each chapter follows a different POV), but Gyasi makes it work. Such an important read about race relations in the US, and how systematic racism did not end with slavery and segregation. Review to come.

E V E R Y T H I N G  Y O U  W A N T  M E  T O  B E  B Y  M I N D Y  M E J I A  |  ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

As someone who’s steadily getting into the stride of mysteries and thrillers, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this. It was extremely fast-paced with right clusters of information revealed at the right time. It also tackles a sensitive issue with the utmost grace. Review to come.

1 0  T H I N G S  I  C A N  S E E  F R O M  H E R E  | ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ | R E V I E W

Perfect summer contemporary for fans of Morgan Matson and Rainbow Rowell; it offers a light, fast-paced perspective while also dealing with important themes. Its portrayal of anxiety is important, as well its focus on family relationships. Loved the romance too!

M U S I C ,  M O V I E S ,  A N D  T E L E V I S I O N

T H E  L O R D  O F  T H E  R I N G S  T R I L O G Y

I rewatched the entire The Lord of the Rings trilogy last month, and can I just say that much like rewatching/rereading Harry Potter, it felt great to fall back into something I love so much. I honestly think the trilogy is a freaking masterpiece – from the stellar acting to the cinematography to the themes and the story to the soundtrack; everything about it is so spot-on. As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to appreciate the smaller things; I used to freak out about the cool fight scenes and the magic (not that I don’t anymore because I absolutely do), but the finer details of the intricacies of Sam and Frodo’s relationship, the dynamics between the Trio, the love between Merry and Pippin, the strength of Aragorn and Arwen’s relationship. Ughhhhh, I just love it so much. The Hobbit movies are infinitely inferior to the original trilogy, period.

E N G L I S T A N  B Y  R I Z  M C

I’ve spoken about my love for Riz Ahmed and his rap duo (Swet Shop Boys) in the past, but I’ve been obsessed with his solo stuff this month. Obsessed. By far, my favorite is “Englistan.” It’s such a meaningful rap about anti-immigration sentiment in the UK, what makes England ENGLAND is the communities, the dynamic, the immigrants. Also, just because Riz is a fucking bad-ass, of course he’s going to rap wearing a shirt that’s a half-England cricket jersey, and the other half is Pakistan’s. Amazing.

Join the List

Comments

  1. Erica: I totally feel you about acting younger, haha. I’m in my late 20s and I forget it daily 😂 Try not to be too harsh on yourself though, there’s still plenty of time ♥ A Good Idea is on my TBR so even though it wasn’t perfect I’m glad it was still a likable read!

    Aimal: Sending you all the good vibes for school ♥ I’m really glad you enjoyed Homegoing 😀

  2. I’ve been looking forward to reading Empress of a Thousand Skies! I’m glad you liked it, Erica.
    And I loved A List of Cages, Aimal, I’m so glad to see you enjoyed it as well. It broke my heart but was such an important read. ❤ And The Rose and the Dagger!! I love those books so much. I’m glad you enjoyed that as well, despite your feelings on the ending. 🙂

  3. Looks like both of you had a decent reading month despite a few issues in your personal lives.

    I will be looking forward to Aimal’s review for Homegoing as it has been sitting on my shelf since it came out last summer and I need some major motivation to finally pick it up.

    Happy reading in March to the both of you 🙂

  4. It looks like you both read some great books in February! I really want to read A List of Cages. I loved The Rose and the Dagger too!

  5. Erica, don’t be too harsh on yourself. I get by saying things aloud makes you feel more accountable, I do the same. If I know I need to get something done that I’ll put off I have to tell someone else so then I’ll feel bad if I don’t do it. Looks like you’ve read some decent books, though, I’ve been interested in Empress of a Thousand Skies for a little while.

    Aimal, we all mess up on things. It’s terrible when you’ve gotten a date into your head for something and it ends up being wrong. Hope you can sort it out ok. And Calculus is awful, the thought of doing hard maths just makes me sad. Sorry you had to miss on a concert as well. I remember exam time well and it’s the worst. Glad to see you read a few books and there a couple on here I’ve not heard of so off to investigate now.

    Hope you both have a good March.

Latest from Instagram

Copyright © 2017 · Theme by 17th Avenue