Review | The Amulet Graphic Novel Series by Kazu Kibuishi

amulet

Title: The Amulet Series

Author: Kazu Kibuishi

Genre: Young Adult > Middle-Grade | Fantasy

Synopsis: (for the first book) After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Would I recommend? Great adventure series. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and the likes (:

Average Rating: ★★★★☆

Check out the first book’s Goodreads page!

Buy the first book now on the Book Depository and get free, worldwide shipping.

Aimal’s Review:

I’d never read a graphic novel series before this one. I’d never read a graphic novel, period. Before I worked at Barnes & Noble, I had this misconception that graphic novels = superhero comic books, and I’m just not that into superhero things. I slowly learned that graphic novels were a huge genre of their own, content raging from fantasy to science fiction, from contemporary fiction to historical fiction, from politically focused to historical fiction. BookTube and book blogs got me very curious. So why did I pick this series up? I wanted to start off with something light and adventurous, and this series is loved by so many people- what’s better?

I was not disappointed. I got exactly what I paid for. This was so much fun, and it was more than just pure entertainment. The characters were wonderfully nuanced, the plot was complex, there was a rich history, there was political intrigue, there was humor. I was completely engrossed from start to finish. Each graphic novel took me little under forty minutes to finish, and I would find it absolutely impossible to put it down once I had picked it up.

Oh, and I can’t say enough good things about the artwork. It was so polished, so vivid, so detailed. I would resist the urge to tear out pages and put them on my wall…

Vol 1 – The Stonekeeper: 3.5/5

I liked the first graphic novel. I really did. It’s just that since it was my first graphic novel experience, it was a little too fast-paced for my liking. I’m not used to reading through books so fast, so I was a little annoyed at how fast everything went by. But I’m very glad that I stuck around with the series.

Vol 2 – The Stonekeeper’s Curse: 4/5

The plot took some very interesting turns, and I was super glad that we got to see more of Trellis. The world was much more detailed in this one.

Vol 3 – The Cloud Searchers: 3.5/5

Even more world-building. More characters. Great character development. More Trellis!

Vol 4 – The Last Council: 4/5

This installment was great. Stuff took a completely different turn. The tone of the series, as a whole, was changed as things got a lot more political and a lot darker. We get a new villain and they were very fascinating.

Vol 5 – The Elf Prince: 4/5

I really liked this one too, because we got so much character development. We get to see more about the villain.

Vol 6 – Escape from Lucien – 4/5

So much character development! I do wish that Kibuishi would stop introducing so many characters with each book.

Overall, solid series. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get into the graphic-novel genre with something fast-paced and fun!

Join the List

Comments

  1. I read this sisters in December and early January, and I rather enjoyed it, too. I was more fond of full page panels than I was the smaller ones–I prefer what the artist does with scenery to what he does with characters.

Trackbacks

Latest from Instagram

Copyright © 2017 · Theme by 17th Avenue